Introduction

À Propos du Fonds des Rangers

Le Fonds des Rangers a été créé pour fournir une aide essentielle, du travail, ou une formation aux veuves et aux familles des Rangers morts au combat.

A Propos du Fonds

Depuis la reconnaissance des Virunga en tant que parc national en 1925, plus de 200 Rangers ont perdu la vie pour protéger la faune et les habitats du Parc ainsi que les gens qui vivent autour des limites du Parc. Avant la création du Fonds, les veuves recevaient peu ou pas de soutien financier et leurs familles s’en trouvaient la plupart du temps terriblement appauvries.

En 2007, la direction du Parc a entrepris de retrouver toutes les veuves des Rangers décédés. Depuis lors, l’équipe a réussi à identifier presque toutes les familles de ces Rangers, remontant jusqu’à 1991, lorsque le conflit régional a commencé.

Après la perte tragique d’un Ranger, un fonds privé est immédiatement établi pour recueillir l’aide de notre communauté et tous les dons vers ce Fonds sont directement reversés à la veuve du défunt Ranger.

Durant les six mois qui suivent le décès du Ranger, le Parc continue de verser l’intégralité de son salaire à sa veuve. Après six mois, celle-ci reçoit une pension pour lui offrir une aide supplémentaire le temps que la famille s’adapte à sa nouvelle situation. Les veuves et leurs enfants bénéficient de services médicaux et d’accès à la scolarité gratuits dans les installations du Parc.

Faire un don par virement bancaire

  • Hidden

Les résidents des Etats-Unis peuvent faire un don via Virunga Friends Fund at CAF America.

(Les dons effectués à travers ce lien sont éligible aux exonérations fiscales du gouvernement des USA dans la mesure prévue par la loi applicable)

Les résidents belges peuvent faire un don directement au compte bancaire ci-dessous:

(Les dons effectués sur ce compte sont éligibles au crédits d’impôts du gouvernement de Belgique sur un don caritatif dans la mesure prévue par la loi applicable)

Introduction

About the Fallen Rangers Fund

The Fallen Rangers Fund was established to provide critical support, employment, and training to the widows and children of those Virunga Rangers killed in the line of duty.

About the Fund

Since the establishment of Virunga as a national park in 1925, over 200 Rangers have lost their lives protecting the wildlife and habitats within the Park, as well as the people living around the Park’s boundaries. Before the Fund was in place, widows received little to no financial support, with their families often becoming severely impoverished.

In 2007, Park management set out to find every widow of a fallen Ranger. Since then, the team has managed to identify nearly all of those Rangers’ families, dating back to 1991, when the regional conflict began.
After the tragic loss of a Ranger, a private fund is immediately established to garner support from our community and all donations towards that fund are given directly to the Ranger’s widow.

For six months after the Ranger’s death, the Park continues to pay the Ranger’s full salary to his widow. After six months, the widow receives a pension to provide additional support as the family adjusts to their new way of life. Widows and their children receive free medical services and schooling which are provided through Park facilities.

Further Development

As well as financial support, Virunga endeavors to provide young widows with opportunities for personal development via work-based training within Virunga’s various departments.

Having taken advantage of the scheme, which aims to empower vulnerable women, one electrical engineering graduate now works for Virunga Energies, supplying sustainably produced power to homes and businesses across the region. There are four women currently being trained as chocolatiers in the Virunga Origins chocolate factory, with a further two being equipped with the knowhow for marketing the end product in Goma. In the tourism department, one lady is learning the ropes as a pastry chef while a pair of trainees delve into the world of gastronomy, readying themselves for waves of hungry travelers on the lookout for gorillas.