Board of Directors

Virunga Foundation

The Virunga Foundation is a UK based charity founded in 2005, created to support the protection of the flora and fauna of the Park, as well as the local communities that live near Virunga’s boundaries. The Foundation holds the management contract for the Park.

Meet the Board of Directors
  • Jan Bonde Nielsen

    Chairman of the Board, the Virunga Foundation

    Jan Bonde Nielsen has extensive business experience, with a career spanning infrastructure projects around the world. He has maintained a close connection with Africa throughout his life, playing an active role in the charity FARM-Africa since its foundation, and acting as director of the veterinary organisation, SIDAI.

  • François Xavier De Donnea

    Member of the Board of Directors, Virunga Foundation

    François-Xavier de Donnea’s career began as Professor of Economics and Public management at the University of Louvain in Belgium. He became a Member of the Belgian Parliament in 1981 and served in the Belgian Government as Secretary of State for Development Cooperation and Minister of Defence. He has served as Mayor of Brussels and as Minister-President of the Brussels-Capital Region. In the Belgian House of Representatives he served successively, from 2003 until 2014, as Chairman of the Committee on Finance and Budget and as Chairman of the Committee on External Relations.

  • Joanna Natasegara

    Member of the Board of Directors, the Virunga Foundation

    Joanna Natasegara is an award winning producer and impact producer. Joanna has experience in documentary filmmaking, having directed and produced documentaries covering social justice and politics. Her work is global in scope, collaborating with organisations and international leaders across the political spectrum, as well as the business, arts and philanthropic worlds.